Life in the West Country

In which there is a silk anniversary

It’s October and once more our wedding anniversary has come around, marking 12 years since we said our vows.

Some years are the golden years, where everything flows and the relationship feels easy. Other years are the testing years – the year after the birth of our son was one, where exhaustion pushed me to my physical limits and my husband had to gently draw me back from the edge.

This year has also been a testing year, with the death of my mom. I’ve not been myself, especially last winter. Even when I thought I was coping, looking back, I don’t think I was. The egg is still forming and some days are incredibly hard. And that’s not easy on my husband.

But just like an oyster needs a piece of grit to makes a pearl, I think relationships need these tests to make them stronger. Here’s hoping that by our lace anniversary (which will also mark 20 years together) that we’re in a more golden year.

Leave a comment