In which there are some things I’ve been loving of late

Standard

REN Vita Mineral Omega 3 Optimum Skin Oil

Ren oil

I like this so much, I’ve actually now written about this for two of the magazines I work for. My friend runs a salon that uses REN products, and I got this as my freebie at a Christmas pampering evening I went to there. It’s light but nourishing, and since using it, I’ve been told I look “fresh faced”, which isn’t bad for someone pushing 34! It’s pricey at £24 but you only need a drop or two underneath your moisturiser in the morning to see results.

Croc Odour Fridge Deodoriser

This is such a random thing to include but I really want to share the love for this product! We made a porch for our house by adding a door to the curved brick archway, and use it to keep shoes and coats and recycling in. The upside is more storage, the downside is that it can get a little stuffy and smell a bit like a changing room in there. I was on the hunt for an air freshener but I hate the noxious, artificial fragrances you get with most commercial ones, and also didn’t like the idea of anything too chemical being present to us and to the cat. Then I found this in Robert Dyas, and bought it on a whim. It uses a seaweed-based gel to absorb odours and as it’s designed for fridges, it’s not toxic at all and doesn’t have a perfume. It works a treat and I can highly recommend it.

The Latte Years by Philippa Moore

I’ve been reading Phil’s blog for years, starting out with her writing-based one, Green Ink Girl, and then moving to Skinny Latte Strikes Back, her fitness and general lifestyle one. She’s a fab writer and all-round nice person, so when her first book, her memoirs of weight loss and what happened beyond the ‘after’ photo, was published I bought a copy as I knew it would be good. I deliberately got the bus into work so I could continue reading it and then finished it in a day, which says a lot about how much I enjoyed it! Read if you’re in need of inspiration to fulfil your goals and make changes in your life. It’s currently out in Australia and NZ in paperback and can be bought on Kindle everywhere else. Phil’s new online home is here, if you want to learn more about her and the book.

 

Leave a Reply

