In which there are some sub headings

Standard

You know when there’s so much going on recently that you don’t know where to start? My head is so full of different things at the moment that sub headings will definitely come in handy here.

IMAG0449

The plum tree in our new garden in blossom earlier this year

The new house

We’ve been working super hard for the past few months and have made massive progress in a number of areas, from wallpaper stripping to completely demolishing an interior wall and putting up a lintel. For the latter, my dad, civil engineer and building surveyor extraordinaire, kindly did the calculations required to ensure the house wouldn’t fall down, and then he, my mom and my brother came down for the weekend to help us actually do the deed. Teamwork really did make the dream work, as by Saturday night the wall was down, the lintel was in (and we were knackered).

The house has also now been re-wired, so is no longer a fire hazard, and at the moment the plumber is working his magic on a central heating system, with the bathroom fitter and woodburner fitter hot on his heels later this week. We’ve ordered windows and bi-fold doors, the kitchen fitter is primed and waiting, and we should hopefully be making a decision soon about our balcony. S and I have the week off following Easter and are hoping to get some more stuff done, including removal of the mini mountain of rubble in our back garden and doing bonding around the new electrical sockets (i.e. putting a thick first layer of plaster in before the real plasterer makes it all smooth and shiny). Not the most scintillating of jobs, but all things that get us a step further to actually being able to move in. And I continue to thank my lucky stars that we have a warm, cosy house to return to once we’ve done with DIY for the day, that has central heating and warm water and sockets that don’t present a danger to life and limb.

My job

I had a feeling that once I accepted a job with this company that good things would come from it, and I was right: I’ve been offered another maternity contract which flows seamlessly from my current role, as an editor on two craft magazines. I’ll be starting my new job at the start of June, and am very excited to be entering the world of cakes and knitting. I’m also hoping that there will be freebies!

Life in general

The weather is warming up and, as always, the weeks are flying by. There’s a lot of lovely stuff coming up soon and over the next few weeks – time off over Easter, a visit from best friend Z all the way from Australia, a friend’s hen, a trip to Edinburgh to see my friend and meet her new baba. And of course, the promise of balmy nights by the water, barbecues in the sunshine, hot air balloons in the sky, being able to wear flip flops – all the things that make a Bristol summer so lovely.

So there you go – that’s me in a nutshell. How are you all doing?

Leave a Reply

