In which there is a glorious week of doing very little

Standard

I start my new job on Monday, so I promised myself that I’d get all my freelance work finished in advance so I could have a week of doing pretty much nothing before I started. Happily this week coincided with us getting a free Love Film trial for instant films and programmes through our TV,  and also with S buying me a new papasan cushion as a surprise (it’s so much squishier than the old one!), meaning I’ve been enjoying a mix of reading, sleeping in, getting small jobs done around the place and gorging myself on old episodes of Dawson’s Creek (please don’t judge me) and Only Fools and Horses.

Through the wedding magazine I was invited down to Harvey Nichols to preview the Tom Ford, Estee Lauder and Clinique summer make up ranges.  Although technically it was work, spending a couple of hours surrounded by perfumes and make up wasn’t a hardship, and I was very lucky and ended up with goodie bags filled with more products than I usually buy in a decade. This is in no way a sponsored post, but I do highly recommend the Tom Ford lip colour shine (I have it in Quiver and Insidious, but will be donating the former to my mother) and Clinique’s A Different Nail Enamel, which is formulated for sensitive skin (never thought people could be allergic to varnish, but apparently so). My favourite is Really Rio, a gorgeous summery coral colour, and which has so far lasted two days without chipping. It also matches my favourite hoodie, but I think that’s just a bonus.

image

We also started doing a really fun interactive story telling event in Bristol, These Pages Fall Like Ash. As soon as I saw that Neil Gaiman was involved I had to buy a ticket, as he’s one of my favourite authors and someone whose use of language and ideas never fail to dazzle me. Once you’ve signed up, you receive a wooden book – which is in itself really amazing – with half a narrative and the locations of where you can wirelessly access the remaining stories. You then walk around the city, finding the hidden routers, and download the pages onto your phone or Kindle.
image
We spent a happy afternoon wandering around in the sunshine, deciphering the clues as to where the routers were, and seeing the tale unfold. There were a few teething problems – two of them didn’t work, which was a little frustrating – but the concept is so clever and I’m really looking forward to reading more stories as they’re released over the next week.

This week has been a really nice relaxing preparation for my first days at the new job. I know it’s going to be tiring, having to be in the same place at the same time every day – for the first time in five years! – and also doing something I feel I don’t know a lot about at the moment. But I’m also excited to have a new challenge and to be working full time on a job which is going to be very creative. If you had told me two years ago that I’d be doing this role, I wouldn’t have believed you. Sometimes life works out in ways you can never expect or predict. And I’m glad, because it means you can end up in some amazing places.

Leave a Reply

