In which the evenings are getting lighter and my life plan changes somewhat

Standard

2013 so far feels like it’s just gone by in this whirl – I can’t believe we’re into March already. The daffodils in the shops, the birds tweeting their little hearts out and the evenings getting tantalisingly lighter show that winter is definitely on its way out, thank goodness.

Apart from rhapsodising about Australia and Chile, and trying to keep warm in some very chilly weather, the last few weeks have been spent doing some very nice things: two wedding photoshoots, a trip to see friends in Oxford, celebrating our goddaughter’s fifth birthday with a “pirates and princesses party” (we wore full fancy dress, no other adults dressed up, cue much embarrassment), boring two sets of friends with photos from our trip (but accompanied by wine to sweeten the deal), playing ping pong on the city’s outdoor tables and getting a lot better at front crawl to the extent that I finally beat S in a race. We’ve also been enjoying four day weekends due to our part time working, although that finally came to an end this week as S was asked to become permanent in the part time role he was doing, which is great for his ego and our bank balance but not so good for lie-ins and impromptu kitchen DIY.

And they’re going to end for me, too, very soon: my biggest news is that I have a new job! The irony is that it’s one I didn’t intend to, you know, actually get – I applied to see how far I could go and then it all just seemed to happen by accident. (I think that’s the way to apply for jobs, not really mind too much one way or t’other, as you’re then really relaxed in the interview, rather than stressing for days beforehand about the answers to their questions.)

From the start of May, I’m going to be the editor of a national craft magazine, one that has actual ABC figures and gives away free gifts on the front cover. It’s a maternity cover position, so only for ten months, but it is full time. That’s the part of it that I really didn’t mean to go for: I was ideally looking for a two day a week job to complement my freelance work, so ending up with five days a week of work was never really in the plan. But hey, when life hands you a needle, you make some stitches with it and hope for the best. And it is the most amazing opportunity in terms of experience, as I’ve never before worked on a magazine that people actually hand over money for.

When my time there is up, the plan is to go back to my portfolio working as I enjoy it too much to give it all up. I’m also planning to keep freelancing where possible so I can keep the contacts I’ve made and not have to start again next year. My mum – a complete legend – may take on some of my clients in this interim period, something she is actually really excited about, after enjoying doing it for me when I was away last year.

(As an aside: I met my parents and brother for dinner in London this week and prefaced my announcement about the job with the phrase “I have some news!” I guess, as a 30 year old woman, I shouldn’t be surprised that the first two comments out of their mouths were “you’ve sold the house!” followed by “you’re pregnant!”)

After over four years of part time and freelance working, it’s going to be extremely strange to have to go to the same desk in the same office for five consecutive days EVERY WEEK, and I know it’s not going to be easy at first. But at least I have the memory that I have done it before for five years, before I got seduced by the idea of organising my own time and being able to work in my PJs. (Ahem, not that I do that…)

So while my life plan has gone slightly off course, to paraphrase Max Ehrmann, I think everything is unfolding exactly as it should.

One response »

  1. Congratulations on your new job!

    And yes, every time I say “I’ve got news!” pregnancy is the first guess 99% of the time! I’m putting that off a little while longer yet! x

Leave a Reply

