In which there is praise of blogs

Standard

As well being my lovely husband’s birthday, today is the fourth anniversary of when I started this ‘ere blog. (And this is my 250th post – I like that nice round number.)

Writing a blog wasn’t something I ever thought about doing – in fact, I didn’t really know about the world of blogging, until one day in 2008 when I discovered one amazing blog, fell through the rabbit hole,  quickly learnt more about this new and exciting landscape and became a total convert. After a few months I decided to try having one of my own, just a little post here and there, and then, before I knew it, I was hooked.

I love reading blogs. It’s a glimpse into other people’s daily lives – a time when we can take an invited look in through their net curtains to see what they’re up to. From Switzerland to San Francisco, Nice to Edinburgh, London to Colorado, Washington to Sheffield, Zurich to Surrey, some more London and Edinburgh, plus lots of people just around the corner; so many different viewpoints, so many different ideas, so many different things to think about and consider. Reading about and getting to see these other lives makes me genuinely happy.

Reading blogs has given me so many new things to try over the past four years. Skinny jeans and gold shoes because of Holly‘s posts on them, a sonic scrubber to clean my tiles courtesy of Krys‘ praise, a programme to help improve my swimming via Em, a whole host of wonderful wedding ideas and a simply delicious aubergine recipe are just a few of the many, many things I’ve tried as a direct result of reading about someone else’s experiences.

Every time someone reads my posts, leaves a comment or drops me an email I feel really happy that people care enough to visit my corner and say hi. Through blogging I’ve made some great online friendships, exchanged emails with wonderful people and made connections across the world that I’d never have thought possible.

Also, if it wasn’t for writing in this space, I would never have had the confidence to apply for an internship at the publishing company I now work for. Having regularly had practice in writing on a whole range of random topics made me think that yes, I could give this whole writing malarkey a serious go. And whaddya know? Two years down the line I’m editing a magazine and doing a whole bunch of other things I never ever envisaged myself being able to do.

Here’s to the next four years!

2 responses »

  1. Aw, thank you for the menton. And isn’t the world of blogging amazing. The boyf laughs at me, but I totally feel like I have a world of friends through it.
    Can’t wait to read the next 4 years of your happening 😉 x

Leave a Reply

