In which I look back on a fantastic year

Standard

I can honestly say that 2012 has been one of my best years ever. I knew it was going to be pretty special, what with turning 30 and the small matter of a three month round the world trip, but it outdid itself in many other ways, on a personal level and also on a larger stage.

I’ve never been a jingoistic flag waver but I was so proud to be British in 2012. After the horrible events in London last year, having such a fantastic Olympic Games was a real balm to the country. And that opening ceremony! I re-watched some of it the other day and I still think it’s such a perfect representation on the UK and our culture. For someone whose not usually a sports watcher, I was avidly watching – and enjoying – loads of random Olympic events, as well as the Tour de France. In fact, I became such as fan of the TdF that I’m going to watch it next year for the Alpe d’Huez stage. (Unfortunately we were out of the country for the Paralympics so I don’t know much about them, sadly, but I bet I would have been similarly glued to them.)

Our Awfully Big Adventure was just that, and one of the best things we’ve ever done together. We had the most amazing time, forged a lifetime’s worth of memories and experienced so many things that I’m still processing them all. Posts on Chile, New Zealand, Australia, Bali, Singapore, Thailand and India will come soon! We also got to travel to Germany and Austria, and visit Brighton, Yorkshire, London and West Wales. I hope 2013 brings similar opportunities to see more of the world.

In terms of work, I’ve certainly not been bored. I was asked to become the editor of the magazine I work for, which made me very, very happy. I had some other great freelance work and worked with some lovely people. And although I got made redundant from my part time job, this was a blessing in disguise as I’m really excited about looking for a new role in the new year, as well as developing more freelance work projects.

As of October we became an aunt and uncle after S’ sister gave birth to baby Holly, and we also stood up as godparents in April. My dad passed his Masters with distinction, we danced at four friends’ weddings and toasted two others who got engaged. I turned 30 in June accompanied by lots of friends, fun, frolics and wine, and I’m really excited to see what this new decade will bring. The first six months have been pretty awesome!

Yep, 2012 was a good year. Thanks to everyone who has visited me here, read my ramblings and contributed a comment – I still get a real thrill from knowing people are reading what I’m writing. Here’s to 2013 and all the opportunities this new year holds for us all.  I’ll be seeing the old year out with some of my very favourite people in a pub in Clifton, with (rain permitting!) a walk over to the suspension bridge at midnight to watch the fireworks. Wherever you are and whatever you’re doing to welcome in 2013, I hope you have a good one, accompanied by plenty of your favourite beverage. (Make mine a glass of cava.)

Leave a Reply

