In which there’s going to be an awfully big adventure

Standard

For the past few years, I’ve had a very severe case of itchy feet; a yearning to drop everything and head off into the unknown. It’s not like I’ve been stuck in the rainy UK with no chance of parole – in fact, I’ve been extremely lucky in being able to have brilliant holidays, including some to very far flung places with enough tropical beaches and palm trees to satisfy anyone’s craving for paradise.

But it wasn’t enough. I wanted to go for longer than a couple of weeks, to have the chance to forget about everything back home, to explore lots of places in one go. I wanted to be able to be one of those annoying people who start conversations with “when I was travelling…” Not that I would start conversations like that, you understand, having had it done to me many a time, but having the ability to so do would be appreciated.

It’s often said that good things come to those who wait, and it’s certainly true for me. After some pretty serious discussions about The Future and Our Jobs and What Do We Actually Want To Do With Our Lives, S and I came to the decision last year that in 2012 we were going to take a bit of a leap, quit our jobs and take some time off to go travelling.

So we did. And we are. We’re going to be gone for three months, between August and November.

Want to see the route?

The overall itinerary is a month in South America, three weeks in Australia, a week in Bali and three weeks in India, plus 2-4 days in each of our stopover places that were requirements of the plane tickets – Miami, Santiago, Auckland, Singapore and Bangkok (on the basis that since we have to go through them anyway,  we want to see more than the inside of an airport). We’ll also probably cross over into Bolivia too, as we’ll be travelling overland from Peru to Chile and the lure of Lake Titicaca is too strong to ignore.

We planned this in much the same way we planned our wedding: after dinner, over a bottle of red, with the help of the internet. It’s the fault of the wine that we’re stopping off in Bali but I don’t think we’ll regret it.

So far, things seem to be working out well. S handed his notice in for his job late last year and has taken a new six month maternity cover position that finishes in August. The aim is for him to have another job lined up for when we get back in November, so there’s some job security for at least one of us. My freelance work can be put on hold for the duration with a little bit of forward planning, and it’s looking increasingly likely that I’ll be made redundant in August from my part time job. As I planned to quit this job anyway, ending up with a redundancy payout means I’ll actually be better off financially before we go.

The leap has been made, the tickets have been bought and a new passport has been applied for. And having now got over the few panicky moments of wondering whether we’re doing the right thing, I can. not. wait. Any advice/suggestions/must sees for any of the places we’re visiting?

8 responses »

  1. I’m soooo happy for you, what a wonderful, amazing thing to do be doing. You’ll never regret it!!

    I have been to Auckland, India and Singapore – and have spent a little time in Australia 😉 ha ha – so I’m happy to give you some must sees and must eats and drinks (most of my recommendations involve food). Goa is a must in India, may I say from the outset. It’s paradise!

  2. I’m working late, so all i can say is that I’m CONSUMED with jealousy. I have itchy feet too. I love that phrase.

    Please tell me you’ll be blogging along the way so I can live vicariously through your posts!

    Also, you’re going to love Peru. It’s one of my favorite places in the world.

  3. Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek. Thats so exciting.
    I echo the please blog the journey comment. please please. x

  4. Awesome!! That is so cool and I’m really looking forward to hearing about the South America part of your adventure!

  5. Helen – what a fantastic plan, and a fantastic trip, and I can’t wait to read all about it! When D and I got married, we went to New Zealand for two months and toured the country top to bottom in a campervan (stopping off for a week to get married in Queenstown and stay in a proper honeymoon house). While it was nothing like a trip as huge as the adventure you two will enjoy it was still the best time of my life so far (dodgy camp showers and all!), and I’m sad that I wasn’t blogging then to have posts to look back on. Good for you and S for having the guts to grab life by the nuts!

    P.S. Sorry it’s taken so long to jump onto your site and finally comment.

  6. Heya, I just hopped over to your webpage thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would generally read, but I enjoyed your views none the less. Thanks for creating something well worth browsing.

  7. Pingback: In which I look back on a fantastic year « Postcards from the Edge (of the West Country)

Leave a Reply

