In which we celebrate the old and bring in the new

Standard

So there’s 10 hours left of this year. It’s a very grey and murky 31st December here in Bristol, and we’re having a lazy day hanging out in the house and watching films, punctuated by a little light playing with Olivia and eating of bacon and egg sandwiches and yet more Christmas cake.

Christmas passed in a haze of wine, board games, reading, lounging and chocolate. I got some lovely gifts, most of which were edible, which is my perfect sort of present, as well as an electric blanket which we asked for and gratefully received from S’ parents. We may be officially old people now, but we’re toasty old people.

As I get older, the days and months and years seem to speed up – I can’t believe that 2011 is already done with. It’s been a good year though, a great year in many ways, and I feel very thankful for all the wonderful people and opportunities in my life. Because I am very blessed, and I think it’s very easy to lose sight of that in the business of every day living.

One of my resolutions for this year was to make a real go of my freelance career and I can say, hand on heart, that I have. It’s not enough at the moment to support me full time but I think soon I will be able to tip the majority of the balance from part time working to my own work. Although I did lose out on my dream part-time job in the spring, interviews around then have ended up leading to freelance work that has been really interesting. My proudest moment was seeing my name as editor on the wedding supplement I did in August – I can’t quite believe that I’ve gone from work experience to that in twelve months. Thank goodness I answered the intern advert – it’s set me off on a path that I never even dreamed of.

In my personal life I’ve had a thoroughly enjoyable year. There have been holidays to Paris, Cornwall, Germany, Poland and La Gomera; I’ve caught up with old friends and made new ones; S and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary and eight years together with the best meal I’ve ever had. Despite vowing not to, we ended up being super busy yet again in the summer and booking out all our weekends, but they were filled with such nice things that I can’t complain – camping trips, barbecues, visits to London, a hen do.

We’ve fulfilled a long held dream in getting a cat, who I love to bits (despite the fact she is incapable of keeping litter in the tray), and who has made us feel like more of a family. And the icing on the cake is that towards the end of 2011 we made plans that will hopefully mean 2012 will be a very exciting year – I will keep you posted! It’s also the year I turn 30 and I’m really excited about that – my twenties have been good but I have a feeling that my thirties are going to be even better. Plus it will be nice to be in the same decade again as S!

Thank you all for taking the time to visit and read and comment on my posts. I still get a thrill whenever I see that people are actually reading what I’ve written – it really means a lot to me.

We will be ringing in the New Year at a circus masked ball, with S wearing a top hat I spent yesterday afternoon constructing. Whatever you do and whoever you spend it with, I hope you have a great evening saying goodbye to 2011 and hello to 2012.

See you all next year!

One response »

  1. What a fun look-back on 2011. Happy New Year to you and S, Helen! Many blessings for a fantastic 2012 – the year in which (fingers crossed) we’ll get to meet up in person. 🙂

Leave a Reply

