In which you can hear my accent

Standard

I first saw the accent meme/vlog/thing on Rainy Saturday and Tigerlilly Quinn earlier this year, and was really interested to hear the voices of people whose words I read regularly. Then this week Molly at These Little Moments did it too, and I started to think about jumping on the bandwagon and releasing my accent on the unsuspecting blog community. And then the following day Holly at Nothing But Bonfires posted hers, so I saw that as the final sign that I should be hopping on.

I’ve never done a vlog before (which to me sounds like it’s something Aleksandr Orlov would say) and any videos I’ve posted on this site have tended to be random things like monkeys in doll masks or Bonnie Tyler wafting around a school scaring young boys. Seeing myself speaking for seven minutes is strange. It’s always odd to hear your voice, as it sounds so different to how it runs in the soundtrack of your head (apparently something to do with sound being distorted in the ear canal). I have a deeper voice in real life than in my private version. As I’m not in the habit of filming myself, I’ve also not noticed before how much I nod my head and use my eyebrows when I talk. It’s a little disconcerting to watch. Also, for some reason known only to Vimeo, it decided that the frame it would use as the still for the video is when I have my eyes closed, so I look a tad weird, and just like my old French teacher who spent most of her time with her eyes shut in an exaggerated manner. (It was always hard to concentrate on learning about the subjunctive because we were so mesmerised by her eyes.) Sadly my video editing skills are non existent so I will just have to stay looking odd.

(Update: I realised I could change this, hurrah! Now I look a bit more awake.)

The quality’s of the video not amazing (I just used my little point-and-shoot camera, balanced on a stack of books and, non-glamorously, a toilet roll) but I hope you enjoy, if only for the varied selection of hats in the background.

As a random aside, the wallpaper you can also see behind me was one of the latest DIY things we did and took  many, many hours, arguments and buckets of paste to apply.

So you can play along and do your own version of the meme, this is what you have to do:

Say the following words:
Aunt, route, wash, oil, theatre, iron, salmon, caramel, fire, water, sure, data, ruin, crayon, toilet, New Orleans, pecan, both, again, probably, spitting image, Alabama, lawyer, coupon, mayonnaise, syrup, pajamas, caught.

And answer the following questions:
What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
What is the bug that curls into a ball when you touch it?
What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
What do you call gym shoes?
What do you say to address a group of people?
What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
What do you call your grandparents?
What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
What is the thing you use to change the TV channel?

Let me know if you do one yourself as I’d love to hear more of the voices of the bloggers I read.

10 responses »

  1. Hurrah! It made me really happy to listen to another English accent. You say things NORMALLY, like I do! Haha.

    PS: I do detect a TINY bit of a West Country accent. The real test is whether you say “menny” instead of money.

    • I have just sat here for the last few minutes repeating the word “money” in a variety of combinations and sentences, and I’m pretty sure I say “MON-ey”, to rhyme with “honey”. But then I found myself saying “cheers drive” as I got off the bus the other day so perhaps I am more West Country than I think!

  2. A voice to the blog! I did this exercise, too. Though I’m not as polished as you are. I might have to delete mine :-s But it’s a Canadian one, and I can’t believe I didn’t say ‘toque’. Good point!

  3. Lol you sound exactly like me- I would pronounce all those words in exactly the same way:)
    I grew up in Warwickshire and so have a similar sort of British southern accent to you I think.
    One of my best friend’s grew up near Bristol and he has no discernible West Country accent either until he gets drunk, when it becomes a bit more pronounced!

  4. I really enjoyed watching your video! I’ve watched this meme make the rounds, but I am SO not doing it. I simply can’t overcome my fear of vlogging. I guess you’ll have to wait until we meet up for a pint after our big move (soon come, fingers crossed.)

    I definitely find my accent changes depending on whether I’m speaking to Brits or Americans. Well, it’s really more that my vocabulary changes. For instance, I’ll refer to a bin, a lorrie (lorry?) or a car park, rather than a garbage can, a truck or a parking lot. I don’t know that my accent itself changes so much, because I sound terribly pretentious saying “grahss” rather than grass. My British accent is way better than D’s American accent, though. Every time he tries, it comes out like some over-the-top John Wayne impression, which causes me to collapse into a fit of giggles.

    With respect to the pronunciation of various words, I had no idea that you would call a pecan a peek-in rather than a pee-caahhn or even a pee-can. I shall have to brush up, so I’ll be understood over there. 🙂

  5. I imagined a way more bristolian/west country accent – but thats because you keep referring to cider – what i would like to hear is a meme of you saying words that are typically pronounced amazingly in a west country accent. cider is one. lover is another.

    i keep thinking of doing one of these to show off my ‘i’m trying to disguise the fact I am a northerner’ northern accent but i just look chubs on the camera! maybe one day.

  6. I enjoyed watching this. You pronounced all the words the same way that I would! If I had a camera on my computer I would make one of my own. Maybe I’ll try and use husband’s computer when he’s back. It was lovely to hear your voice, so I must try and do it!

    [it’s Rachel of peacockfeathers by the way. I’m just logged in on my other account and can’t be arsed to long in and out 🙂 ]

    • Thanks! Yes, please do one – it’s really good to put voices to words.

      Also, congratulations! I’d missed reading your posts over the last few weeks at Peacock Feathers but have now caught up on the other blog.

Leave a Reply

