In which there are some Autumn treats

Standard

Coloured tights

Specifically my ribbed burgundy pair from La Redoute which are the perfect thickness to keep legs warm in nippy Autumn breezes. Our temperatures have halved over the course of a week so tights and boots are now a daily staple.

Strictly Come Dancing

It’s back and therefore my Saturday evenings are set (or Sunday mornings on catch up). As soon as Nancy Dell’Olio, Lulu and Robbie Savage are eliminated, I shall be happy. S is liking the return of the lovely Flavia and her dimples.

Bombay mix

I always forget how utterly delicious and addictive this stuff is.

Visiting charity shops

I live within a two minute walk of four excellent charity shops and over the last few months I have found some absolute gems, including a copy of The Little Stranger by Sarah Walters and a lovely stripy dress that draws compliments wherever it goes.

Margaret Atwood novels

Over the last month I’ve read The Handmaid’s Tale, Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood, and I’ve just started The Blind Assassin. Margaret Atwood is such a startingly original writer and her writing is beautiful. S is equally addicted and is racing through The Year of the Flood in order to find out what happened to Snowman.

The Yeo Valley advert

I nearly applied for a job with Yeo Valley at the start of this year, and after watching this and last year’s rap spoof I’m regretting not going ahead with it. Ah well. Big up Westside!

5 responses »

  1. HOW CAN YOU SAY THAT?! Poor Robbie. Ever since he said he “felt worthless” when Craig gave him a 2, I have had a soft spot for him. Even if he does have hair like the Duchess of Kent. And even though long-haired, tattooed, monosyllabic footballers aren’t normally my thing, I secretly think he’s quite hot…

    I am desperate for Nancy to go though.

    • Sorry, I just can’t warm to Robbie. It’s a combination of the hair, his excessive interest in his appearance and his reputation on the football pitch. Also the slashed-to-the-nipple top he agreed to wear for his first dance. CRIME!

      I am glad we are united in our dislike of Nancy though. How can any self-respecting women be happy with the moniker of “Italian siren”? Poor Anton. He hasn’t had a decent partner since Patsy Palmer.

  2. Oh, I do love autumn. My favorite things include snuggling up with a hot water bottle, hot apple cider, crisp sunny days with the smell of falling leaves permeating the air, and looking forward to Christmas!

Leave a Reply

