In which I finish my magnum opus and make my first ever bearnaise sauce

Standard

And I’m back! 32 pages, five articles, one fibreglass cow and too many captions to count – my wedding supplement was finally finished last Thursday and is now at the printers. I am so proud of it and I can’t wait to see it in all its shiny glory at the end of this week.

We celebrated by having a lovely, relaxed, moochy weekend in Bristol, which is my favourite kind of way to pass the time. We started with steak and red wine on Friday night, for which I made my first béarnaise sauce, and which was a lot easier than I thought it would be. Over Saturday and Sunday we went gorilla spotting (more on that later), visited the See No Evil graffiti project on Nelson Street, took lots of photos, drank beer on a boat, caught up with friends, gave the garden a much-needed tidy up and sat out on our deck enjoying the flowers. After spending the last few weekends running around the country to see people and the last few weeks working flat out, it was great just to be able to wake up in my own bed and know that the day could take on whatever shape it wanted to. There was sunshine. There was chocolate. It was bliss.

2 responses »

  1. I did used to love a steak béarnaise 🙂

    Sounds like a weekend at home was just what you needed. I am looking forward to things being quiet in about October…until then it is madness 😛 x

Leave a Reply

