In which it’s Canada Day, and there is an ode to Toronto

Standard

Appropriately enough, since it’s Canada Day, I’ve been re-reading old emails from when I lived in Toronto and getting nostalgic for the wonderful, magical year I spent there.

I was so uncertain about leaving the UK to move to Canada, and people who knew me at that time will no doubt be able to recall how many hours I spent trying to decide whether or not to go. Partly because I liked my life in Cardiff, partly because I had just met S and knew I was onto a good thing, but mainly because I was scared of change.

Thank goodness for S; he encouraged me all the way to close my eyes and take a leap into the unknown. And thank goodness he did; my year in Canada was, without a doubt, one of the best years of my life. I fell in love with a country and it’s a love affair that will last for the rest of my life.

Alison once talked about her “soulmate” neighbourhood and for me, that would be Kensington Market in Toronto. It’s an amazing area, full of Victorian houses, independent cafes, quirky clothes shops and the best food market I’ve ever had the pleasure to shop in. It was close to U of T, so getting to lectures was easy, and it was right next to Chinatown, so getting my noodle fix was even easier.

I also met so many amazing people, both Canadians and other nationalities, and they are amongst some of my very favourite people in the world. It was a pleasure to dance with so many of them at our wedding and I can’t wait to see the German contingent when we travel to Berlin next week.

I don’t know if I’ll ever get to live in Toronto again but it will always, always be one of my very favourite places.

I miss you, Toronto. Hopefully see you soon.

 

2 responses »

  1. Isn’t it lovely to have a place like that to be nostalgic for? As difficult as it is, the decision to move, the packing and arrangements and the saying goodbyes (both at home, and then when you move back from your new “soulmate” place), how much richer one is for the experience.

    I’ll always feel that way about Portland, too, where-ever I go.

    P.S. Have a great time in Berlin!

Leave a Reply

