In which I ask a very important question

Standard

Ladies out there, can you do me a favour and answer a Very Important Question?

How many pairs of shoes do you own?

By this, I mean everything you can put on your feet:  “occasional” shoes such as slippers and wellington boots and dance shoes as well as the more every day trainers, high heels, etc.

We are currently redoing our bedroom (more on that later) and the question of how many shoes I own, and why there are so many, reared its ugly head.

(This generally happens at about two year intervals – it first came to light when we moved in together, and then again when we moved house, so it’s about time for it to be raised again.)

I would love to have proof that the number I have (which I will eventually divulge) is “normal”.

Except… maybe it isn’t?  Maybe I have a massive shoe fetish and I just don’t realise it?

Am I a secret Carrie Bradshaw/Imelda Marcos hybrid or just an average woman with a normal need for a variety of footwear?

Your help to answer this would be very much appreciated!

 

6 responses »

  1. Hmmmmm. this is a difficult one.
    I couldn’t tell you how many pairs I own because I have the luxury of not having to store them all in one place.
    But at my house I have; 4 pairs of converse, 3 pairs ugg style boots, 1 pair running shoes, 1 pair nike ID’s, Aprox 5 pairs of {unwearable} heels, Aprox 8 pairs flipflops, 2 pairs black boots – one over the knee, one not – 2 pairs brown boots, aprox 6 pairs of pumps, a couple of pairs of summer canvas shoes, a pair of ‘walking’ trainers, wellies, slippers, purple DM’s, Birkinstocks……..hmmmm. that might be it?
    In my car I usually keep a few pairs and I have a box of shoes under the bed at my parents, and there are usually a few pairs of pumps at the boys too.
    I don’t think i’m unusual either. I know girls with WAY more pairs of shoes than me……

  2. Well I used to have loads, almost 60 pairs I think, but when I moved to France I cut down and threw loads of pairs away.
    Now I have: 3 pairs of knee boots, 2 pairs of fake Uggs, 1 pair of wellies, 4 pairs of trainers, 1 pair of pink walking boots, 8 pairs of flip flops, 1 pair of Converse, 6 pairs of heels, 3 pairs of ballerina flats and a pair of slippers
    Oh and there is a bag of shoes at my parents house in the UK too but I very rarely wear them so I’m not counting them :0)
    I think you should spill the beans now!

  3. OK, I hate shoes… well actually I just hate shoe shopping and coordinating them with my outfit. If I had an Edwardian ladies maid sorting it for me, I’d be all for shoes. But I digress.

    I have 3 pairs of pumps, 2 pairs of trainers, 1 pair of Docs, 2 pairs of boots, 3 pairs of sandals, 1 pair of flip flops, 1 pair of hiking boots, 1 pair of trail shoes, 1 pair of duck boots (sort of wellies), 1 pair of shearling slippers and my snowboard boots. So that’s 17 for me and I don’t even LIKE ’em!

  4. I started to answer and realised I have no idea. Lots. I have 4 pairs under my desk, several pairs in the car. Wellies, walking boots, riding boots, old ugg boots in the boot bit of the entrance to the house. 2 pairs in the sitting room. Upstairs, ugg boots, slippers, timberland boots, high heeled pumps and ballet flats in the bedroom. Then lots of high heels, sandals, flip flops, summery shoes, ‘city shoes’ that just don’t work down here and so on in the bottom of the wardrobe, in boxes in the cupboard and in one of those hanging things on a rail. I think it’s more than 33 and I think I just upped your average… x

Leave a Reply

