Reverb 10, days 28 and 29 – achieve and defining moment

Standard

December 28Achieve

What’s the thing you most want to achieve next year? How do you imagine you’ll feel when you get it? Free? Happy? Complete? Blissful? Write that feeling down.

December 29Defining Moment

Describe a defining moment or series of events that has affected your life this year.

I’m going to combine these two prompts as there’s a link between what I want to achieve in 2011 and an important series of defining moments in 2010.

Before this year, I’d never properly considered that I could be the kind of person who could have their own business.  Sure, I’ve been dabbling on the side since 2006 but dabbling was the operative word: I never took it very seriously.  Losing your job (again!), however, really crystallises your ambition, and I realised that rather than be at the whim of other people (and to be more specific, at the whim of funders such as the Arts Council), I wanted to be in control.

The defining moments for me were those that made me think I could actually do this:  when my new business cards arrived; when I travelled to Birmingham to meet a potential client who ended up hiring me; when I saw my name in print in a magazine; when the publishing house I did work experience for offered me paid gigs.  I gradually came to realise that being my own boss was possible.  At the moment it’s not full time; I don’t want to leave the security of my part time job, with its pension and its fully equipped office, while I’m trying to build up a client base.  But just going for it has been enough.

So that’s what I want to achieve in 2011: I want to make my business viable.  In a perfect world  I would end up with enough work to be able to give up completely on any part time jobs, but good enough for me would be to have a comfortable turnover, with enough regular clients that I’m not worried about meeting my monthly targets.  How do I imagine I’ll feel when I achieve it?  Happy, and proud, and pleased that I had enough courage to go for it.  And if I don’t achieve it?  Well, at least I’ll have tried.

One response »

Leave a Reply

