Reverb 10, day 6 – make

Standard

December 6 Make.

What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?

I really like  making stuff.  I think that was part of the reason that I was up for the challenge of renovating our Victorian terrace house from top to bottom, which took us 2 and a half years, approximately 6 industrial sized vats of polyfilla, and about, ooh, a thousand trips to B&Q.  We haven’t lifted a paintbrush for a while, but the plan is to redo our bedroom in the new year, complete with built in cupboards so we can get rid of our wardrobes.  This is a big project for which we’ll definitely have to clear some time.

Although there’s been no house DIY for a while, 2010’s  still been a bit of a crafty year, what with all the things we made for the wedding.  I think the last thing I actually made was our thank you cards, which involved Publisher, grabbing photos of Scrabble tiles from Flickr, and plain white card.

I’ve also been making a lot more Christmas and birthday gifts in recent years which has been a lot of fun.  Two Christmases ago I made a batch of orange chocolate handcream and mint lipbalms, and last year I discovered that chocolate pumpkin seed brittle went down really well with people.  Other favourite gifts I’ve made include:

I made a whole batch of these chicken doorstops one year, all with H names – I think this one was called Harold

I just need now to think about what I’m going to make this year – better get a move on otherwise people will just end up with leftover teacup candles…

One response »

Leave a Reply

