Reverb 10, day 5 – let go

Standard

December 5Let Go.

What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why?

I think that this year I’ve let go of worrying about what people’s expectations are of me, and it’s such a relief. 

I’ve always been the kind of person who takes other people’s opinions and thoughts into account when making decisions.  This is still important, don’t get me wrong, but it was getting to the stage where worrying about what others might think of me and my actions was hindering what I actually wanted to do and my enjoyment of it. 

As I scale up the heights of my twenties I’m getting to be more comfortable about who I am, and it’s such a liberating feeling.  I no longer feel obligated to do things, which is a novel sensation after years of feeling guilty.  I’m sure it comes from being in a stable and happy relationship with an amazing man who thinks I’m lovely (whilst also being honest about my shortcomings),  and also having great friends and family that I can be myself around.  I wouldn’t go back to being a teenager if you paid me.

One response »

  1. I hear that! I’m a fair few years ahead of you, and there is definitely something to be said for growing into oneself… even though I am also clinging to my fleeting youth.

    As George Bernard Shaw said, “Youth is wasted on the young.”

Leave a Reply

