Reverb 10, day 3 – moment

Standard

December 3  – Moment

Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year.  Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colours).

I’ve already exploited my wedding for a lot of blog writing in the last two months, but be warned: another wedding anecdote is on its way.

I would have to say that the moment when I walked down the aisle would be the one in which I felt most alive this year.  It was the moment I had been dreaming of for the past ten months; the moment that I had been picturing in my head over and over and over; the moment I had bought a dress for and picked a piece of music for and invited people to share.

We didn’t have the 21 degree sunshine we were promised; in fact, it was a good bit cooler, but excitement kept me warm in my sleeveless dress.  As my dad and I waited at the top of the steps under a wrought iron canopy, I could feel my heart beating faster.  The curtain was about to rise on Act 1.

The strains of Vivaldi’s Winter: Largo were fighting for supremacy over the sounds of the rugby match in the nearby college.  Vivaldi won, however; my dad squeezed my arm, and we started off.

I remember the feel of my dad’s suit against my bare arm, slightly scratchy.  He warned me about the two steps I had to navigate on my 3 inch heels, and helped me to go down them sideways so I didn’t trip.  The wired turquoise blue ribbon that held together my white and cerise lilies was stiff against my fingers.  My left hand, bare of the engagement ring, felt lighter, untethered.

The ground was uneven under my feet, with a hessian carpet laid over the grass that was fringed with red and yellow and orange Autumn leaves.  The gazebo at the end of the aisle was a colourful explosion of bunting.

Without my glasses on, and viewing the world from behind a veil, I couldn’t see people clearly but I kept smiling at everyone, then turning to look directly at S.  Not being able to see his face in detail either I took in his outfit – grey suit, yep, knew about that, purple tie, that looks great, good choice hon.  Then as I got closer, he became more in focus and I could see that his grin stretched from ear to ear.

There were a lot of camera clicks, and flashes.  I don’t think I’ve ever had my picture taken that many times before.

So many feelings, so many things to take in, all in under a minute.  And in that moment as I came down the aisle, I was aware that everybody from both our lives had all come together, just for us.  It made me feel humble, and loved, and very, very happy.

 

 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

