In which the hills are alive with the sound of music

Standard

I have spent the last four days eating and drinking my body weight in German bread, beer and pastries.  Lovely friend (and bridesmaid) B invited me over for a Farewell to Bavaria long weekend as she is about to leave Munich and move to Berlin, so it would be the last chance I’d have to hang out in the city.

Munich is a fantastic place, and not just because there are more beer gardens than you can shake a stick at.  Germany doesn’t often register on the consciousness as a holiday destination, but it’s such a great country to visit: the people are lovely, the food is plentiful and calorific (think duck, cabbage, dumplings, fruit pastries), and the beer is the second best in Europe (after Belgium).

I also got to visit Salzburg in Austria, which was a huge deal as it meant chalking up another country on my list.  B was bemused as to why going to Austria was so exciting for me; for her and her friends, it’s incredibly similar to Bavaria in landscape, culture, language and food, so why bother sitting on a train for two hours each way to see more of the same?  What mainland Europeans don’t understand, however, is how amazing it is to be able to board a train and be in another country so quickly – and not need a passport!  (In fact, B laughed out loud when I asked if I needed to bring mine, and reminded me of a little thing called the Schengen Treaty).  It was such a treat to get on the train in Germany and get off in Austria – and in less time than it takes to get from Bristol to London.

Of course when thinking of things connected with Salzburg, as well as its most famous son Mozart, The Sound of Music immediately springs to mind.  I think it’s an Anglo-American thing though, as nowhere in the city referred to it at all, and no German/Austrian I’ve ever met has heard of it either.  I still thoroughly embarrassed B by singing the songs all day – it’s not a musical I particularly love, but it just felt appropriate to be walking past the schloss humming “Doh, a deer, a female deer…”

Our four days together were spent in a happy, sunny haze:  lazy brunches in Parisian-style cafes (albeit with hearty German fruhstucksteller)…

Cycling in the park…

All that is missing from this picture is a baguette in my basket - how European looking is this bike?

Eating giant jam and chocolate pretzels…

Doing more eating, this time topfenstrudel and a raspberry pastry…

Exploring the back streets of Salzburg…

And, of course, doing impressions of Maria, twirling in an Alpine meadow.

3 responses »

  1. Yes! I so completely understand this. When I visited Salzburg, the highlights of my trip were splashing in the Residenz fountain while singing “I Have Confidence” (I got a few strange looks, but whatever) and also visiting the Festspielhaus where they performed at the end of the movie.

  2. Pingback: Reverb 10, day 22 – travel « Postcards from the Edge (of the West Country)

  3. Pingback: In which I attempt to smuggle Branston pickle into Germany « Postcards from the Edge (of the West Country)

Leave a Reply

