In which there is a leap into the unknown

Standard

In contrast to last year’s epic journey around the Northern counties of England, this Easter has passed in a pleasurable haze of leisurely breakfasts, a bracing walk by the sea in Clevedon, playing Rabbids 4, eating Thai food and drinking lots of beer.

Oh, and of course, Easter wouldn’t be Easter without these:

(My favourite are Lindor – little pieces of chocolatey heaven).

After four lovely days off, however, I am now back at work and having to deal with the reality of losing my job – again.

Yes, almost exactly a year to the day that I lost the last one, once again the lack of funding in the arts bites me on the bum, as I found out a couple of weeks ago that my two day a week arts education role was not continuing past May.   It had been on the horizon for a while, so it was much more expected than last time, but still; losing one job may be regarded as a misfortune, to lose another looks like carelessness.

This time around though, I’m in a much better position.  Firstly, I was well stocked up with gin, ready for the announcement.   Also, this whole I-do-two-jobs-and-a-bit-of-freelance-on-the-side malarkey has its advantages, and so I have decided that I am not going to attempt to replace this two day role with another, but to try and do more freelance work.  Having a guaranteed income (with a pension!) for three days a week means that I can pay my mortgage and other bills without reducing my nails to chewed stubs each month, and any freelance work I get on top of this just sweetens my life and pays for the Lindor and the Pad Thai.  And if I don’t have anything lined up for that week, well then, that’s a four day weekend!

I’ll hopefully be doing a mixture of arts project management and copy editing/proofreading, and already have a couple of things organised, mostly thanks to my wonderful friend R who not only has given me some work through her own theatre company, but has also passed on another thing she didn’t have time for herself.  Add to that my regular proofreading gigs and I’m getting somewhere.

Going it alone is simultaneously pant-wettingly terrifying and extremely exciting. I’ve always wanted to be my own boss and to be able to work from home in my pyjamas if the mood so takes me.  Having to hustle and – ugh – network (I hate both that word and that activity) in order to get jobs is not something I’m looking forward to, but I love the idea that I have no idea where this is going to take me, and that I could end up doing things I never even dreamt of.  It’s a leap into the unknown.  It could go hideously wrong, or it could be the best decision I’ve ever made.  Wish me luck.

2 responses »

  1. Sorry about the job – again. But it’s kind of exciting and you have a great attitude about it. I’m sure many people have ideas about how to become their own boss but no time to pursue it. From the way you are approaching it, with a part time gig covering the basics, you are actually quite fortunate. (I am definitely a glass half full kind of person).

    A toast: May this be the start of something very cool for you!

  2. Pingback: In which my working life changes yet again | Postcards from the Edge (of the West Country)

Leave a Reply

