In which I get Kreativ

Standard

Whilst I was away, the lovely Krys at Keenie Beanie – a really interesting writer who also takes some great photos, and whose blog is definitely worth stopping by on a regular basis – nominated me for a Kreativ Blogger award, which was ace of her.  I haven’t been nominated for anything since 2003 (and that was something I nominated myself for!) so I was pretty chuffed.  I’m just pleased when someone has found my little corner of t’internet and likes it enough to visit.

As part of this, I’ve been requested to give out seven facts about myself, and then nominate  other bloggers who I’d like to pass the award onto and learn more about.

So!  On with the facts!

  1. I really hate coriander.  To me, it tastes of soap.  Whenever we go out for Indian or Thai food I am on a constant Coriander Alert and have to scrape it off the top of dishes.  Going to Thailand, I was worried that everything would be smothered in it, but to my surprise (and relief!) not a single leaf was in sight.  There is some scientific evidence to suggest that people who hate coriander have highly sensitive tastebuds (although I just did a search for this and can’t find the report I read) which makes it taste vile.  That may be; it’s still gross.  I also hate liquorice, aniseed and fennel, which rules out Sambucca shots.
  2. I am a general knowledge geek.  Age 13, my school team made it to the national finals of the schools general knowledge competition.  We lost by one question in the semis to an Irish team when we didn’t know what sport the Lonsdale Belt was awarded for.  Age 20, I was selected to be on my university’s University Challenge team.  This was a very proud moment.  Not so proud was the fact we didn’t get through to the television round (and up therefore not get to meet Jeremy Paxman), but hey, you can’t win ‘em all.  I still flex my general knowledge muscles in our local pub quiz.  Geek?  Yes, totally.  But it wins me beer.
  3. I am a synaesthete with spatial sequence/number form synaesthesia.  It makes organising my life so much easier as I can “call up” my diary in my minds-eye to see what’s going on.
  4. My ears stick out which means that my dreams of an Audrey Hepburn-esque short crop will never be realised.
  5. Aged 10 my Victoria sponge cake won first prize at our village’s Flower Festival cake division.  I still have the certificate.
  6. Speaking of my village,  I swear it was the inspiration for Royston Vasey in The League of Gentlemen.  Don’t get me wrong, I had a great childhood – full of fetes, harvest festivals, strawberry picking and walks through the countryside – but it wasn’t until I moved away that I realised quite how odd the village and its people were.  Somerset is a great place and I’m very proud to come from there, but man, it breeds some strange folk.
  7. I can say “thank you very much for shopping at Sainsbury’s Central” in Welsh.  Unsurprisingly, this skill has never got me anywhere in life.

So!  Passing on the award love!  These are blogs that I read on a regular basis and would love to know more about the people behind them.

It’s the Small Things

Some Lazy Sunday

Nicer in Nice

A Great 2008

Unagi

Thanks Krys!

2 responses »

  1. That synaesthesia thing sounds like a handy talent. I wikipedia-d it (I love wikipedia!) to find out more and I am fascinated. How did you figure out that this ability was something special? As in, I imagine you’ve always thought like this since you were small, so when did you figure out that not everyone can do it? Very cool.

  2. As you say, for ages I always thought this was normal and everyone saw things this way. Then when I was about 24 a friend was telling me about another friend of ours who said she saw certain words in colour, and she said that this was called synaesthesia. I was interested to learn more so I looked it up on Wikipedia and realised that I had a form of it myself. There is a really interesting article on the BBC website about it – http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/8248589.stm. My mom has it too but my dad always looks at us a little strangely when we try and describe it!

Leave a Reply

