In which I make people look like lions and tigers and bears, oh my

Standard

Another weekend, another first birthday party.  This one was in the park as the weather has decided to become sunny, and despite liberal applications on factor 15, I still managed to burn the back of my neck.  It sucks being pale.

I had spent the morning at a fundraising event, helping out by face painting, and then when we got to the party, my brush came out again, as the birthday boy’s parents had bought some paints that morning.  I really enjoy it though – the look on a child’s face when you show them in the mirror that they now resemble a lion, or a rabbit, or a green monster with curved fangs (very popular yesterday) is great.  S was impressed, as he’s never seen me in action before, and was very tempted to have a tiger done, although he eventually concluded that he would look a bit foolish once we’d left the confines of the park.

(Whenever I do a tiger all I can think of is Phoenix Nights, and all these children wandering around Chorley with permanently striped faces.  Luckily Snazaroo paints are washable.)

The good weather has also persuaded my reluctant sweetcorn to come and say hello, and the tomatoes on my windowsill also put on a massive growth spurt this weekend.  The courgettes are coming along nicely, with some of the seedlings actually getting to the four leaf stage.  We’re still a long way off eating anything, but we’re getting there.

I made the mistake of getting carried away in Wilkinsons again, and came back with strawberry plants, thinking that at least they have a head start and already have leaves, and a stem, and the potential to bear fruit.  With only three plants, though, I sincerely doubt we’ll be harvesting enough fruit to make anything more than a single bowl of strawberries and cream.

The combination of gardening and amusing small children (and, probably, the glass of cava in the park at 4pm) had us knackered by 7pm, so we spent the evening lounging on the couch watching Thelma and Louise.  Part of my 2009 resolutions is to watch a “classic” film each month, so this is May’s.  I already sort of knew the plotline – mostly from watching the Simpsons’ parody – but I still really enjoyed it.  Any film where the heroines accidentally manage to blow up a massive truck with one well-placed bullet is fine with me.

This week will be spent reminding myself of dance moves for our show on Saturday and Sunday.  Despite the non inclusion of jazz hands, it’s a great routine, and I think – even though we only learnt the ending two weeks ago – we’ll manage to make a good job of it.  We finally managed to get hold of Bunty tights, which are a magical type of hosiery that hold you in and support your legs and manage to make people look like actual dancers.  The only snag is that they’re a complete bugger to put on as they’re so thick, requiring you not to be hot and sweaty at all, which is somewhat difficult when you’re getting changed in a crowded dressing room and are  becoming nervous about your forthcoming stage debut.  I might just keep them on from Thursday to Sunday and save the hassle.

One response »

  1. Pingback: In which I write two posts in one day « Postcards from the Edge (of the West Country)

Leave a Reply

